Bulgaria's Boryana Kalein bags silver medal in exercise with hoop at FIG World Cup
Bulgaria's Boryana Kalein bags silver medal in exercise with hoop at FIG World Cup

Sofia, Bulgaria: Bulgaria’s Boryana Kalein made her country proud as she bagged the second position in Rhythmic Gymnastics at the FIG World Cup, which is being held in Baku, scoring 31.450 points in exercise with the hoop. 

The first position has been taken by Italy’s Sofia Raffaelli, who managed to score 34.900 points; meanwhile, the third position was obtained by Adi Asya Katz of Israel with 30.350 points. 


The fourth position has been taken by Arzu Jalilova of Azerbaijan, who scored 29.800 points, which is followed by Takhmina Ikromova at 29.450 points. 

At sixth position is bagged by Azerbaijan’s Zohra Aghamirova with, securing 29.350 points, followed by Sumire Kita of Japan with a score of 28.800. 

At eight comes Eva Brezalieva of Bulgaria, who scored the lowest mark of 22.650. 

FIG Rhythmic Gymnastics World Cup will be held from April 22 through April 24, 2022, where 130 athletes from 31 countries, including 42 individual and 84 group gymnasts (14 groups), are participating in its different competitions. 

More about the championship: 

FIG World Cup refers to a – number of events arranged by the International Gymnastics Federation (FIG) across seven competitive gymnastics disciplines, which include – 

 1) acrobatic gymnastics, 


2) aerobic gymnastics, 

3) men’s artistic gymnastics, 

4) women’s artistic gymnastics, 

5) women’s rhythmic gymnastics, 


6) trampoline and tumbling, and 

7) parkou. 

The first-ever FIG world cup took place in the year 1975. Since 1997, the Artistic Gymnastics World Cup has been competing as a series of stages in different cities around the globe. From 2003 to 2010, events at the Artistic Gymnastics World Cup series were split into – Category A and Category B. 

Category A events were booked for invited athletes only, while in Category B, any athlete is eligible to participate. Commencing in 2009, the World Cup series changed focus from a biennial series to a yearly series with no final culminating event.